Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I just got back from a great miniatures meeting where a friend of mine introduced the club to needle felting.  She brought the wool, the needles, homemade handouts, and everything we could possibly need, and before long she had us shaping little woolen bunnies.  I had to immortalize my favorite leporine associate with a fitting tribute.

And I’m probably going to a bad place when I die for this, but when Hanna tolerated her copy (*ahem* minion) so well, I had to take photos.  I think it is a rule of the internet that rabbits must have items placed on their heads when photographed, similar to how cats get captions.  I paid her off handsomely with apple for the insult.

I was fortunate to meet Hanna as my first surgery patient in my second year of veterinary school.  She was found as a young rabbit with what were most likely her brothers, running around a North Carolina beach with a weakened hurricane Hanna on its way.  She was the only one the rescue group had been unable to catch, and on the night of the storm, a kind couple saw her white fur as she sheltered in their bushes.  They managed to catch the soaked, frightened creature and get her on her way to the exotic animal clinic where I met her for her spay.  It is a bit of a tradition among vet students to adopt their first surgery patient, as the dogs and cats are shelter or rescue animals in need of homes.  I wasn’t going to be part of the tradition, until my favorite species presented herself, and not long after the passing of my previous, wonderful little dwarf bunny.  I took Hanna home a few days post-op and though she was obviously pretty new to humans, she was doing binkies and stealing apple slices when I wasn’t looking on her first day.  She’s a wonderful, clever, stubborn little diva of an English Spot and we love her very much.

Goodnight everyone 🙂

