Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

When I think of my sister and the jewelry she wears, I think of both as being unique and elegant.  I had this piece in mind for a while and finally assembled it for her Christmas gift.  The name, “Cordelia,” roughly translates to “Heart of the Sea,” and I incorporated a few aquatic themes into something a little different.  (My apologies for the dark photos…I was taking them in a bit of a rush the morning of delivery.)

Image

I fashioned the spiral by wrapping a strip of clay to dry around a pencil, and covered the outside edge with ground silver clay to resemble sand.  The main circular shape I made by pressing another strip of silver clay onto a ginkgo leaf I found this fall, which was then wrapped around another form to dry.  If you look closely (and do a bit of imagining) you can see some of the leaf’s striations.  The focal bead is a AAA grade pink freshwater pearl, and the smaller pink button pearl sits in a miniature oyster shell.  The piece is a little more abstract than I am used to making, but one my sister thankfully liked.

