Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

tinylion The ladies in my miniatures clubs are building libraries and I wanted to make something they could use as bookends, fireplace guardians, etc.  This was the original lion that I used to make silicone molds, and it is amazing how something so small can take over ten hours of work, but I wanted to make him proportioned liked a real lion.  Here’s what he looked like five minutes into the process:

tile1

He is pretty tiny, at 1 inch long by 1/2 inch wide.  I loved/obsessed over making his tiny toes.

dime1The ladies really liked the idea of having protective lions in their libraries, and so I ended up making a bunch of cast lions that looked like jade, marble, granite (not shown), antiqued silver and gold, lapis lazuli, and turquoise.

lions2

I have to say the metallic lions were the most popular, but I have a soft spot for the jades.

lions1

greenlion

Happy Friday everyone :-).

