Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It is already the first day of spring and I barely got this one ready in time for Easter, but I am pretty proud of this little pendant.  I am also trying something new and will be making a donation to a rabbit rescue for each one sold.

outdoor1Our traditional white bunny that hides colored eggs goes back to Anglo-Saxon mythology and is tied to the moon.  Interestingly, rabbits are also connected with the moon in Egypt, Japan, China, Siberia, and regions of Africa.  In Celtic tradition, old wise women could turn into rabbits or hares in the moonlight, and eating one was taboo for fear of harming someone’s grandmother.

outdoor3My favorite tree growing up was the willow (and I used the one at my parents’ house to stage the photos), and its branches are commonly used to make bunny toys.  As willow trees thrive near water, they are also associated with the moon.  Willow is known for its ability to grow into a new tree from a single fallen branch.  The bark contains natural rooting hormones (indolebutyric acid and salicylic acid) and gardeners have long made a tea from willow branches to get cuttings from other plants to grow.

sculpey1The sculpt was a lot of fun and I liked the pairing because willows and wild rabbits are prolific and can thrive in modest surroundings.  There is also just something magical about each of them.  I know I could talk about my bunny Hanna for hours…with apologies to my friends who do not own a house rabbit.  It is very convenient when you want to take cute Easter photos (though Hanna waited over an hour to decide it was worth her time to explore the scene I had created and was skeptical of the whole camera thing).

100_1527

To help my favorite species, I am donating 20% of each sale to a couple of rabbit rescues I have come to know.  One is SaveABunny, and another is Magic Happens in Louisiana.  You can find the pendant in my etsy shop.

Happy Easter everyone!

