Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As the title implies, I have been very busy the past couple of weeks, either being out of town or working diligently to finish my 1:12 scale doll.  I plan to include her in my application for an IGMA Guild School scholarship, a place where I would learn awesome techniques from the best miniaturists in the world and meet lots of neat folks on a picturesque lake in Maine.

I apologize to all of my followers for the lack of posts, and once I get this doll as finished as she’s going to be this week, normal progress posts and “Gemstones of the Week” will resume.

In the meantime, here’s a teaser for Aria’s shoes.  I just finished them and she couldn’t wait to run around in them, even in her knickers.

shoes1 “Give a girl the correct footwear and she can conquer the world.” – Bette Middler

Yesterday I picked up swatches of fine chocolate brown European leather and indigo blue ultrasuede at the Scrap Exchange, and had to come up with a way to use them.  Birkenstocks are my favorite shoes, and I conveniently had some sheet cork lying around.  I found out that you can sand cork and leather, and I did so as much as I could to thin the pieces before assembly.  The shoes are still a little clunky, but I was determined to get all of the layers in there, for less than $1 in materials.  The leather is soft and velvety, and the soles have a textured design like real Birks.  For a first-time cordwainer, I am pretty pleased.

