Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I had a very hard time deciding on Aria’s outfit, mostly because there are so many historical periods and themes to choose from.  Finding the right fabric was a challenging (but fun) scavenger hunt, and the nice thing about dressing a tiny doll is that you don’t have to spend a lot for nice material.  I also got to use the trims and lace I’d been given from my friends in the miniatures clubs.  (Bonus points if you know the origin of the post’s title.)

Since I knew Aria was going to be wearing pearls, her attire had to have some elegance.  At the same time I wanted a shorter dress and cute sandals, which pushed her fashion clock forward into the 20 century, likely after 1950.

bloomers1Regardless of the time period, I was happy to finally be making the child some underwear, because as Aria got hair and details and grew closer to being finished, in my mind she was transitioning from nude to naked (or nekkid, if you’re from the South).  After trying to make “normal” underwear and realizing it was going to be a big pain in the you-know-what, I made some bloomers, which were still popular into the 1960’s.  They were simpler and allowed for freer movement of the hip joints.  My second try was way to big, but the third time was the charm and I had her in a pair of (rather tight) silk undies.

pantsUnderwear Mark II (aka yoga pants, with Aria practicing her balance)

bloomers2Underwear Mark III (aka silk Spanx)

Aria is an Italian name, and I wanted her to look like she just stepped off a Vespa in 1960’s Florence.  Since I have been dabbling in serti silk painting, I came up with a cheerful design for the skirt that would be the base for the rest of the outfit.

skirt1skirt2skirt3Here’s a montage of the painting process, where the silk was stretched on a 5×7 picture frame I had lying around.  The resist is allowed to dry and then the magic happens.  A wash and a press and you’re ready for the runway.  Tuscany is famous for its fields of poppies, and including the colors of the Italian flag was an unintentional coincidence.  Bunnies just look good anywhere, and I have always loved Japanese indigo fabric, particularly the ones with rabbits (the Rabbit in the Moon, the White rabbit of Inaba who jumps over the waves, etc.).

Next time, the “completed” outfit!

