Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here is my little cottage/mill/bakery for the Undersized Urbanite contest, off paper and in the process of becoming real.  Turning thoughts into realities is the goal of Wishcraft Studio, and though the project is a bit intimidating, I keep telling myself it will turn out alright in the end.  The photos are all dark because I keep taking them late at night when I am able to work on the project.

mockup1One thing I had learned from the miniatures clubs was to think about how to display a finished piece ahead of time.  Keeping out dust meant ordering a display case, and big display cases are expensive, so I made the cottage 1:24 scale instead of 1:12 to fit inside a basketball case.  I also learned a second valuable lesson: wait until you have the actual case.  10 inches cubed online turned out to be more like 9.5 inches cubed, which meant going back to my sketches.  It was a good thing though, as tweaking the design made it better.

foam1I had some blue insulation foam lying around (seriously, I did) and used it to make a base for the terrain.  Extruded polystyrene is a favorite of prop builders because it is rigid but can be sanded and cuts easily (still not as easy as fingers, unfortunately, and I have my first ever crafting-induced scar to prove it).  I wanted the mill to have a root cellar, which is the nook carved in the side of the hill.

cutting1

I had purchased a sheet of gatorboard a year ago when I had my first idea for a dollhouse and am using it for the walls.  Gatorboard is stronger than foam core and doesn’t warp when exposed to moisture, meaning it is good to go for paint, glue, and whatever else I can slather on it.

mockup2I sketched out the walls on paper before cutting the shapes.  I also decided to cut every door, window, and niche for the electrical wiring to make things easier in the long run.  If you look closely you can see the hollowed out areas and arrows for where the wires will go.  My goal is to have all of the wiring hidden inside the walls, floors, and furniture.  I haven’t quite decided what to do next, so it’ll be a surprise.

