Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

brick6It took me a while to get up the gumption, but I knew I had to get the bricks on the house to move on.

brick5The mortar between the bricks is a concoction of wood filler, acrylic paint, white glue, and water (another big thank you to Karen Corbin!).  It has the look of a melting Wendy’s Frosty with the nebulous consistency of that corn starch slime you make in second grade, but I have to say it dries hard and looks a good deal like cement up close.  I spread it on thick, such that when I pushed in the bricks it gushed up between the crevasses.  I waited until the mortar was nearly dry to shape it a bit more, making tiny trowel marks.  Since I was starting with old-looking bricks and had to eyeball their placement in the mortar, I ended up with a very rustic wall.

The sides of the mill tower are a double basketweave pattern, the rest of the backside of the building is called a running bond (what you see everywhere nowadays).  I am still trying to decide the brickwork on the front of the tower, since the dimensions are a bit odd.

brick1I had also been putting off making the shop window because I did not have a clear idea of what it should look like.  But, as another bottleneck in the building process (after all, you can’t put wallpaper or trim on something that isn’t there), I finally sat down for an hour with a scrap of gatorboard and came up with this.

shop1

From there, I think I started channeling my inner Charles Dickens, and in the span of another evening I had a shop front I was proud of.  My evolving story for this Tudor-style cottage is that has been in use for quite some time as a mill, and only more recently had the bakery addition.  As such, the shop window and its more ornate, Victorian façade was added later.

front1No bakery would be complete without a place to sit and sample the wares before returning home with “what you came for.”  The interior of the bay-style window will be home to a little bench seat with cushion.

shop2A coat of thinned gesso as primer, and I am ready to paint!

gesso1

