Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The mill’s door was a fun side project, and is named for my friend who managed to be involved in its entire design process.  I have to say she has good taste.  Unfortunately, the door came together so quickly that I forgot to take regular pauses for pictures, other than the couple of quick iPhone shots I sent her before staining (which you get to see too).
door1editThe door began as lengths of wood, which were taped together and set against the doorway to serve as a stencil.  Once marked, I gently sanded the wood until I had the round shape.  I removed the tape and sanded the individual boards to make them look aged, then carefully glued them back together.  Not knowing what to do next, my friend and I flitted around Pinterest, sending each other pictures of doors we liked.  We discovered Pinterest holds a surprising bounty of photos of windmill doors.

When we both proposed a Z-frame design at the same time, it was going to happen.  I had forgotten windmills are really agricultural buildings, and probably first cousins with barns.  Additionally, this building is a mix of parallel and diagonal lines, and I was pleasantly surprised that I could repeat the angle of one of the beams on the upper floor (my geekiness has just been reaffirmed).

door2editThe bolts were punched out of a thin sheet of wood veneer, and I will be expounding on the many uses of this stuff in a later post. Since the bolts were real wood, they could be stained, and after Katie and I deliberated and I consulted my eerily multiplying library of stains (think Tribbles), a warm mix was devised for the door.  It unintentionally came out close to the doorway’s color, but the consensus was to leave it.  Sadly, I cannot show the finished lantern because I don’t have all of the parts yet, and because I want to finish covering the walls before I attach something so delicate.  I can give a little preview of the great bead I found for the glass portion, with the light on.

lit1I had great metal rondelle beads from a friend to use as the doorknob, and on a trip to Etsy and I found some beautiful brass findings to serve as doorplates from a very nice seller down the road.  Headpins became nails, and the front door was almost ready to grace its house.

hingesI had purchased the tiny hinges ages ago, and they were finally getting some use.  Those little devils are tricky to install, and I learned some good don’t-do’s for the next time I do hinges, but thanks to some creative crafting, I finally got them to work.  I am also becoming convinced that a certain percentage of a miniatures project is to be spent combing the carpet on your hands and knees, looking for parts (maybe that is why they are called “findings?”).

doorinside

dooropenIn the end, I was really pleased with how Katie’s door came out.  I think it makes the shop look quite homey.  Thanks for the help, Katie!

shopfront

 

