Tags

, , , , , , ,

This story starts out sad, but I think it will have a happy ending. It begins with a remarkable and generous woman named Bonnie, who in addition to being a good friend of mine for the past several years, introduced me to the world of dollhouse miniatures. She was one of the most generous people I have known, and always cheered me on when I brought her new minis I’d made. Unfortunately, (and you’ve probably noticed the past tense), she passed away recently and suddenly.

In addition to loving minis, Bonnie was a retired schoolteacher and principal, and she loved children. She’d sent more than one visiting child home with a dollhouse or roombox prepared that day from her collection, just like if Santa had carefully led you through his workshop as a wide-eyed child and put toy after toy in your stocking. The children I saw seemed to think the same.

To honor her memory, I’m making a dollhouse and donating it to a family in need or a service organization. I want it to be used and enjoyed, and my goal is to have it ready in time for Christmas. I wanted three or four rooms, and I almost got a Greenleaf (the Arthur or the Coventry), but then I found this vintage beauty on ebay:

The apprehension on the girl's face has sparked several funny conversations in our household. It's also frightening that she is probably older than me.

The apprehension on this girl’s face has sparked several funny conversations in our household. It’s also frightening that she is probably older than me.

It had everything I wanted, and I liked the more modern design. Getting the Tudor for a great price added to the serendipity. As for furniture, I liked the sets by Dura-Craft, and ordered a bedroom, bathroom, dining room, living room, and kitchen. Any leftover furniture will just be impetus to do another of these donated houses.

So my posts for a while will be this project, and I’m also doing the Undersized Urbanite again this year (yay!). I’m not sure how I’ll get both finished, but we shall see :-).

Let the games begin!

Let the games begin!

